Shipping and Yachting

Maritime

Articles Liés

La longue tradition et culture maritimes de Malte lui ont permis de devenir un acteur à la réputation bien établie en matière d’immatriculation des navires. La législation qui y est consacrée, alignée sur les directives européennes et les conventions de l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI), a fait du registre maritime maltais le sixième plus grand au monde et de la flotte marchande maltaise la plus grande de l’Union européenne.

Malte offre une gamme complète et variée de services et d’installations maritimes, notamment l’une des zones franches les plus fréquentées de la Méditerranée, un centre d’avitaillement en carburant majeur et un terminal de croisière moderne. Malte figure également sur la liste blanche du Mémorandum d’entente de Paris sur le contrôle des navires par l'État du Port (MOU). Tout cela consolide davantage encore la tradition maritime historique du pays et renforce sa position de registre maritime international.

Le régulateur à Malte

La direction des ports maritimes et de plaisance joue un rôle de régulateur en surveillant les activités maritimes qui ont lieu dans les eaux intérieures et territoriales de Malte et en gérant les installations portuaires contrôlées par Transport Malta, l’autorité dépendante du ministère des Transports, y compris les installations de plaisance et d’amarrage. Elle doit également s’assurer que les prestataires de services ainsi que les usagers du port agissent en conformité avec leurs obligations légales et contractuelles, et promouvoir l’utilisation efficace des installations portuaires et maritimes. Enfin, elle s’assure que Malte atteint un juste équilibre dans l’utilisation des eaux allouées aux loisirs et aux activités commerciales.

Opportunités fiscales à Malte

  • Nombreuses incitations fiscales pour l’immatriculation de bateaux et de yachts à Malte ; 
  • Mesures de simplification du régime de la TVA pour l’acquisition et l’immatriculation de bateaux et de yachts ;
  • Réductions substantielles de la TVA via des structures de bail ; 
  • Mesures liées à la TVA pour l’affrètement de yachts à court terme ; et
  • Compétitivité des frais relatifs à l’enregistrement des navires et à la taxation du tonnage.
  • Très bonne reconnaissance internationale du pavillon maltais ;
  • Malte a conclu des accords bilatéraux avec des gouvernements étrangers en vertu desquels les navires maltais bénéficient d’un traitement préférentiel pour les frais et les taxes portuaires ;
  • Assistance technique disponible auprès d’une équipe de marins qualifiés et expérimentés ;
  • Aucune restriction de nationalité pour le capitaine, les officiers et les membres d’équipage ;
  • Aucune restriction sur la vente et l’hypothèque des navires maltais ;
  • L’Autorité maritime de Malte, structure horizontale avec accès direct aux décideurs, offre un service 24 h/24 et 7 j/7 pour ce qui concerne les questions urgentes ; et
  • Vision politique stratégique claire soutenant l’industrie maritime.

Autres avantages à Malte 

Comment pouvons-nous vous aider ?

Chez Nexia BT, nous sommes en mesure de fournir un service complet aux propriétaires et aux gestionnaires de yachts, notamment l’immatriculation de bateaux et de yachts à Malte, l’affrètement de yachts à court terme, la planification de structures fiscales internationales sur mesure et efficaces, et du conseil juridique et fiscal concerné depuis la simple possession d’un bateau de loisirs à l’immatriculation des navires et des yachts à Malte, à la propriété commerciale d’envergure et au financement, à l’assurance et aux autres questions liées à l’équipage et au personnel. Nous offrons des prestations de conseil sur l’ensemble des étapes qu’implique la propriété d’un yacht : financement, achat et immatriculation.

Nous offrons également notre assistance pour le choix du pavillon de complaisance idéal, en prenant en considération un certain nombre de facteurs, tels que la réputation du pavillon, sa reconnaissance internationale (en particulier pour ce qui a trait aux impôts et à la TVA), les coûts initiaux et annuels, les incidences en cas de succession, les obligations en matière d’emploi, les restrictions de nationalité et l’assurance.

Plus

Shipping and Yachting

Shipping and Yachting

Related Articles

Malta’s long maritime tradition and culture has led to the country becoming a well-established and reputable ship register. Dedicated legislation, all in line with EU Directives and IMO (International Maritime Organisation) Conventions, have made the Maltese register the sixth largest maritime register in the world, and the largest merchant flag in the European Union.

Malta offers a distinctive and complete range of maritime services and facilities, including one of the busiest Freeport areas in the Mediterranean, major oil bunkering facilities, and a modern cruise passenger terminal. Malta is also on the White List of the Paris MoU (Memorandum of Understanding). All this further consolidates Malta’s historic maritime tradition and enhances Malta’s position as an international ship register.

The Regulator in Malta

The Ports & Yachting Directorate has a regulatory role in monitoring the maritime activities which take place within the internal and territorial waters of Malta, as well as managing port facilities which are under the control of Transport Malta, including yachting and mooring facilities. The Directorate is in charge of ensuring that port users and service providers comply with legislation and contractual obligations and promotes the efficient use of port and maritime facilities. It also ensures that Malta achieves the right balance in the use of our waters for leisure and commercial operations.

Tax opportunities in Malta

  • Variety of tax incentives available for ship and yacht registration in Malta; 
  • VAT simplifications measures for the acquisition and registration of ships and yachts;
  • Substantial VAT reductions by means of lease structures; 
  • VAT related measures on short-term chartering of yachts; and
  • Competitive ship registration and tonnage tax fees.

Other benefits from Malta 

  • Very good international recognition of the Maltese Flag;
  • Malta has bilateral agreements with foreign governments where Maltese ships receive preferential treatment in respect of port charges and taxes;
  • Availability of technical assistance from a team of qualified and experienced mariners;
  • No nationality restrictions for master, officers and crew;
  • No restrictions on sale and mortgaging of Maltese ships;
  • Malta Maritime Authority, being a flat organisation structure with direct access to the decision makers, offers a 24/7 service in respect of urgent matters; and
  • A clear strategic political vision supporting the maritime industry.

How can we assist?

At Nexia BT, we are able to provide a comprehensive service to yacht owners and managers including: ship and yacht registration in Malta, short-term chartering of yachts, the planning of international tailor-made tax efficient structures, the legal and tax advice involved in the simple ownership of a leisure yacht through to commercial ownership on a large scale, finance, insurance and issues related to crew and manning. We provide consultancy through the various stages involved in the ownership of a Yacht: Finance, Purchase, and Registration.

Yacht Registration

Button

Yacht chartering

Button

We also assist in the choice of the ideal flag, taking into consideration a number of factors, such as: the reputation of the flag, the international recognition of the flag (in particular for tax and VAT purposes), the initial and yearly costs, succession implications, employment obligations, nationality restrictions and insurance issues.

Disclaimer: This marketing material has been issued by Nexia BT, having registered address at The Penthouse, Suite 2, Capital Business Centre, Entrance C, Triq taz-Zwejt, San Gwann SGN 3000, Malta. Any information within this brochure should be taken as a general guide only and should not be taken as advice and its application to specific situations will depend on the particular circumstances involved. Readers are recommended to seek professional advice and should not rely on information provided in this brochure as a substitute for such advice. While all reasonable attempts have been made to ensure that the information contained herein is accurate, Nexia BT accepts no responsibility for any errors or ommissions it may contain, whether caused by negligence or otherwise, or for any losses, however, caused, sustained by any person that relies upon it. BTI Management Limited is a registered as a Company Service Provider by the Malta Financial Services Authority. BT International Limited is authorised by the Malta Financial Services Authority to provide fiduciary services which do not include acting as a Trustee. Both companies form part of Nexia BT Group.

More